Speechlessness is a rarity – enjoy it while it lasts

When I started my first blog a couple of years ago, I did it as a way to promote my business.  As often as possible, I would share the ins and outs of how to make this or that craft, how to motivate kids, the fundamentals of creativity, how to create interest, how to overcome the creative process when it’s no longer fun and so on.  It was part of my business venture and I accepted the task of blogging as I would any other task related to my entrepreneurship.

However, as time went by, I started to feel drawn to blogging for myself as a creative outlet.  It took me a long time to launch a personal blog and even longer to write my first and second posts.  I had lots of ideas but no confidence anyone would care.  One by one, people have come over to my dark side, supporting my ridiculousness, even encouraging me to give more.

Nikki, of The Panic Room is one such person.  Nikki was the very first person to ever comment, like or follow my ramblings and has been “with me” since the beginning.  When I opened my admin today to write  a new post, I almost fell off my chair:

Nikki has nominated me for a Liebster Award!!  Holy poop!

After taking a moment to research the darned thing, I was so pleased and proud, I cried a little.  No, it’s not a Nobel, nor an Oscar.

But what it is, is recognition from a fellow blogger who’s saying to me:  “hey you. Yeah, you!  I think what you’re doing over there is pretty cool!”

And that, folks, is why I’m here. 🙂

So, onto the fun questions and answers.  Bit of a deja vu as I did the Daily Prompt earlier and had to answer 10 random questions, but this’ll be more fun cause I get to put a trophy on my sidebar this time.  As I may have mentioned before, I’m an award-whore; so I love anything shiny that says “you’re awesome!” cause clearly I don’t know any such thing without these external validations.
1) what is one of your fondest childhood memories?
going grocery shopping with Pop (my grandpa) Saturday mornings and then getting vanilla ice cream at the Pik-Nik on the way home.
2) what is your favorite season and why?
My favourite season is Autumn.  I adore the changing colours and watching the world ready for the winter season.  I love to walk in the woods on the soft carpet of pine needles and fallen leaves, selecting the reddest maple leaves for making a bouquet from and collecting a bucket of acorns and acorn hats to simply enjoy holding.  Something about an acorn…I dunno!
3) who is someone you look up to? famous or non.
I have tons of role models, mentors and heroes.  To say Wonder Woman is a hero would not be unheard of, but to tell you Silken Laumann is also one of my heroes may be more of a surprise.  Perseverance in spite of adversity is what I’ve learned from this hero.
4) name one positive thing about your personality?
I think Nikki chose this knowing it would be a tough one.  Positive without negative?  Hmmm…I’m outrageously loyal.
5) name one thing you love about your physical appearance?
Two years ago, I would have said there’s not a single thing I even like, let alone love about my physical appearance.  But I’m feeling much better now…. And I’m gonna pick….ummmm…..
6) what is your all time favorite movie?
If I pick just one, please know it competes regularly with and is displaced regularly by three other films.  Today, (most days) it’s Total Recall.  For all you youngsters out there, I don’t mean the recent version with hunky Colin Farrell, I mean the original with chunky Arnold Schwarzenegger. 
7) what is something that calms you during times of chaos?
Sasha.  My husky/lab mutt.
8) what TV shows are you currently hooked on?
Can you be hooked, but not watching?  I don’t have TV, so could I say which books I’m hooked on instead?  I’m currently hooked on Louise Penny’s “Inspector Gamache” series!9) name you ultimate dream job?
Can singer/writer/astronaut be a job??
10) what is one of your biggest fear?
This is the big one:  FAILURE.

And now, even more fun for me is that I get to nominate some of my favourite blogs who have fewer than 200 followers, for a Liebster.   You know, a kind of “pay it forward” routine and I’m so pleased to nominate the following awesome blogs I follow for this “fave” award!

And my nominees are (drumroll, please!)
Jane Doh!
Trip Through My Mind
The Whimsical Circumlocutor
Why Writing is Good for the Soul

Please check them out.  You’ll find poetry, political commentary, short stories, books and reviews, some nonsense, humour, family, love, hate and more in these 4 little gems.

And a final THANK YOU!  to Nikki at The Panic Room for my nomination.  I was very touched and pleased to receive it. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Speechlessness is a rarity – enjoy it while it lasts”

  1. Are you one of my nominees?

    For your acceptance post, I need you to answer these 10 questions and nominate some of your fave blogs (the spirit is to nominate blogs with fewer than 200 followers!) Congratulations on your total awesomeness!

    1. What is your favourite holiday and why?
    2. Dog person or cat person?
    3. If you were stranded on a desert island, and a genie popped a record player and electricity onto the island for you so you could use said record player and then offered to give you only 3 albums. Which three albums would you wish for?
    4. Toilet paper: over the top or from the bottom?
    5. If you could have a super power what would it be?
    6. What is 4 x 4?
    7. Have you ever had a dream come true and what was it?
    8. Optimist or pessimist?
    9. What is your favourite curse word?
    10. Xbox or Kickbox?

Tell me whatcha think....

