Ready for my closeup, Mr. DeMille!

Most people don’t know this about me:  I’m a Drama Queen!

I don’t mean that in the modern metaphysical sense, I mean I literally am a queen of the dramatic arts.  This introverted, shy, socially inept fool fell in love with the stage when she was merely whet behind the ears at the tender age of 14.  Some Juniors arrived in our Freshman English class one day, hoping to enlist and entice us to join their ranks the following year when selecting our course options.

The idea was laughable for me:  Me?? Get on stage?!!  Are you nuts??!!

But what had originally struck me ludicrous, ultimately changed my life.  While the boys divested the merits of taking an “easy A” course,  I dismissed the whole thing.  I had no intention of taking this “bird” course, because I simply don’t “do” simple.   Until Farrah spoke.  One girl’s meek telling of how it helped her to overcome her shyness was the key to getting my attention and sparking my interest.  Overcoming your shyness, you say?  Had she not just stood up in front of this class of strangers to to tell us about it?  That was more than I could do!  Well, I had to at least try!

Source:  Butterfly Utopia
Source: Butterfly Utopia

But if you were paying attention earlier, I did already mention that this one, tiny, decision, changed my life.  Like a caterpillar, I had apparently been cocooned for too long.  Taking Dramatic Arts in high school transformed my ugly, fuzzy little buggy self into a beautiful, wondrous butterfly in the moments the spotlight would hit me.  Of course, I picture a Blue Morpho (common enough, yet still unique!) bursting noisily forth from the confines of the brittle chrysalis, but hey…I do have a flair for the dramatic!

I took drama for four years and participated in every single production the school put on during those years in one form or another.  I had incredible mentors in that world and I was spurred to be the best I could be.  My two favourite roles were King Lear (yes, me Lear) and Mary Dupont (an 85 year old stroke victim).  I’m not usually a big bragger, but I was good at this.  Upon graduating Grade 13, I had been accepted into the dramatic programs at both Ryerson (ahem, second best school for drama in Canada, thank you!) and York University but had not believed my parents that they would not fund my narcissism without my own savings efforts and so, when I had nothing to pay tuition, I had to give up my highly coveted spots and hope to be accepted again the following year (cue the violins, because I never went back).  

But my dreams lived on.  Honestly, I never intended to be the starlet.  I always dreamed of being the Director.  And no Director worth their salt turns down a chance to be interviewed by James Lipton.  So, when I saw today’s Daily Prompt, based on the format and questions of “Inside the Actors Studio”, I couldn’t resist!  And the questions are fun too.  So, right when you thought you knew enough about me, my hopes and dreams, here’s a little more you may have been able to sleep at night without knowing but I’m sharing anyway:

What is your favorite word?

Silly.  Yes, silly.  I love the way it sounds, the way it rolls around on your tongue.  I’ve said many times that “silly” is definitely one of the silliest words around and one of the reasons I adore it so.

What is your least favorite word?

Ridonculous.  (Oh sorry, did you mean a real word you may find in an actual dictionary?)

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

This is a loaded question!  And my answer may be even more loaded:  Everything!  Everything I come into contact with turns me “on”.  I love to interact with tangible and intangible form and ideas (not people so much!).  If I have to pick just one thing, I choose the Planet Earth.  What?  That’s still not specific enough?  Arrgghhh…okay.  Then, willow trees.  Yes, willow trees.  Maybe I’ll write a post or a poem or a short story about my long-standing connection to the willow.

What turns you off?

Ignorance.  Wow, that was remarkably short, sweet and easy to pick.

What is your favorite curse word?

Hmmmmm…..favourite curse word?  I have so many to choose from!  Some are so delicious in their texture and others are delicious because of the way they make others respond.  Many women are going to be shocked, but C, U Next Tuesday, is by far my favourite.  (I think I just set the equal rights movement back about 50 years, shit!)

What sound or noise do you love?

I could say it’s the sound of my children laughing, but it’s not.  Does that make me a bad mother?  Hope not.  My favourite sound is an operatic tenor holding low C in Carmen blending with the mezzo-soprano.  I get chills and tears.

What sound or noise do you hate?

Alarm clocks!

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Coroner

What profession would you not like to do?

Aerial photographer.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

“I’ve been trying to tell ya, but ya just wouldn’t listen!  Is this empirical enough evidence for ya?”

7 thoughts on “Ready for my closeup, Mr. DeMille!”

Tell me whatcha think....

